FPPA logo

Board Members sit at a table

FPPA Board of Directors

FPPA Board Description

FPPA Board Meeting Location

FPPA Board & Task Force Meetings

Dates, Agendas & Minutes

FPPA Board Committee Meetings

Dates, Agendas & Minutes for:
transparent spacer image- Audit Committee
transparent spacer image- Investment Committee
transparent spacer image- Ad Hoc Compensation Committee

FPPA Board Members

FPPA Board Description

By state statute, the management of the Fire & Police Members' Benefit Investment Fund and the Fire & Police Members' Self-Directed Investment Fund is vested in the Board of Directors of FPPA. Each board member is appointed to serve a four-year staggered term with the exception of the retired police officer or firefighter, who serve for a six-year term. Each of the nine board members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate, and are composed of:

  • Two members representing Colorado municipal employers;
  • One member representing full-time paid firefighters;
  • One member representing full-time paid police officers;
  • One member who is a retired police officer and who, upon completion of their term, is replaced by a retired firefighter. Thereafter, the appointment of retired officers alternates between a retired police officer and a retired firefighter for each successive six year term;
  • One member who is either a member of the Board of Directors of a special district, or is the full-time paid professional manager of a special district to represent special districts having volunteer firefighters;
  • One member from the state's financial or business community with experience in investments;
  • One member from the state's financial or business community with experience in insurance disability claims; and
  • One member of the state's financial or business community experienced in personnel or corporate administration in corporations of over 200 employees.

Specific duties of the Board of Directors include investing and managing the FPPA benefit fund, disbursing money from that fund, setting required contribution levels, and determining the award of disability and survivor benefits. The Board of Directors also appoints an Executive Director who in turn appoints FPPA staff.

In accordance with state law, each meeting's proposed agenda items are posted in the lobby directory of FPPA's offices at least 24 hours in advance.


FPPA Board Meeting Location

In response to the Covid-19 pandemic, Board meetings may be held in-person or virtually over ZOOM videoconferencing. The official location for each meeting will be noted in the posted agenda and is subject to change. If the meeting is held in-person, virtual attendance by videoconferencing is not available. Directions on how to attend virtual meetings can be found in the individual agendas.

The FPPA Board of Directors meetings are held at our offices in the Denver Technological Center (DTC).

Fire & Police Pension Association of Colorado
Stanford Place II
First Floor Meeting Room
7979 East Tufts Avenue
Denver, Colorado 80237
(303) 770-3772 in the Denver Metro area or (800) 332-3772 toll free nationwide

All Board meetings begin at 7:30 am (generally) and are open to the public, however seating is limited. If you plan to attend one of the board meetings please call the FPPA Board Secretary at (303) 770-3772 in advance to confirm the start time.


FPPA Board Meetings

2023 Board Meetings

2022 Board Meetings

2021 Board Meetings

2020 Board Meetings


FPPA Board Audit Committee Meetings

2023 Audit Committee Meetings

2022 Audit Committee Meetings

2021 Audit Committee Meetings

2020 Audit Committee Meetings

FPPA Board Budget Committee Meetings

2023 Budget Committee Meetings

2022 Budget Committee Meetings

2021 Budget Committee Meetings

2020 Budget Committee Meetings

FPPA Board Investment Committee Meetings

2023 Investment Committee Meetings

2022 Investment Committee Meetings

2021 Investment Committee Meetings

2020 Investment Committee Meetings

Ad Hoc Executive Director Search Committee Meetings

Statewide Hybrid Plan Task Force

2021 Task Force Meetings

2020 Task Force Meetings

  • December 14, 2020


FPPA Board Members

Jason Mantas

Jason Mantas, CPA (Inactive), MBA
Poudre Fire Authority
Member since 2019
Current term expires 9/1/2027

Marisa Pacheco

Marisa Pacheco, SHRM-SCP, IPMA-SCP
Vice Chair
HR Director
City of Pueblo
Member since 2020
Current term expires 9/1/2027

Joan Brown

Joan Brown
ERISA/Employee Benefits Legal Counsel (Retired),
Lumen, Inc. (FKA, CenturyLink, Inc.)
Member since 2021
Current term expires

Karen Frame

Karen Frame, CFA
Former Chief Compliance Officer,
CenturyLink Investment Management
Member since 2018
Current term expires 9/1/2025

Tammy Hitchens

Tammy Hitchens, CPA, CPFO
Deputy Finance Director,
City of Greeley
Member since 2017
Current term expires 9/1/2023

John Hoeler

John Hoehler
Police Officer,
Englewood Police Department
Member since 2020
Current term expires 9/1/2024

Patrick Phelan

Patrick Phelan
Police Commander (Retired),
Denver Police Department
Member since 2019
Current term expires 9/1/2025

Guy Torres

Guy Torres, CIMA®, AIF®, MBA
Managing Director,
Pacific Income Advisers, Inc.
Member since 2016
Current term expires 9/1/2024

Vacant Director Position

Vacant Position



Horizontal color bar